

Media Release

25 September 2019

TENTERFIELD HOSPITAL STAFFING ISSUES BEING ADDRESSED

"Following the Health Forum held in the Tenterfield School of Arts on Friday, 13 September 2019 where staffing levels at the Tenterfield Hospital were discussed, I am pleased to advise the community that a delegation consisting of myself, Deputy Mayor Greg Sauer, Chair of the Tenterfield Hospital Board Mr Allan McKenzie, NSW Nurses & Midwives' Association representative Ms Jo-anne McKeough, State Member for Lismore Ms Janelle Saffin MP, Executive Director Operations, Rural & Regional Health Services Ms Susan Heyman and Manager of the Tenterfield Hospital Mr Tony Roberts (on the phone), met with the NSW Minister for Health, The Hon Brad Hazzard MP on Tuesday, 24 September 2019 at Parliament House in Sydney", said Mayor Peter Petty.

"The Minister spent over an hour discussing staffing levels at our hospital and I commend him on the way he went about listening to each and every one as they put forward their view.

He shared with us that it concerned him that the staffing levels had been cut and he would be following this up closely with Hunter New England Health in the future. The Minister also spoke on how hard it has been right across the State to fill nursing positions, especially in rural areas. Minister Hazzard promised that our Tenterfield area would be included in the election promise to increase nursing numbers across the State.

In closing, I did request the Minister to ensure that at least, the staffing levels at Tenterfield be brought back to 3-3-3 and this be reviewed in 12 months.

I did take the opportunity to thank the Government for funding the new Emergency Department Ward (\$1.4 million) and invited the Minister to Tenterfield to open the new works in the near future, in consultation with Hospital management.

In closing, I wish to thank our State Member for organizing this meeting so quickly and to all others involved for attending at such short notice," Mayor Petty added.

Page 2



Hospital Staffing Delegation L to R – Minister Hazzard MP, Susan Heyman, Deputy Mayor Cr Greg Sauer, Janelle Saffin MP, Allan McKenzie, Jo-anne McKeough & Mayor Cr Peter Petty

ENDS