Urbenville serves as the northern gateway to Tenterfield Shire.
Originally known as Tooloom, this village was renamed Urbenville after Mr William Urben who was the first white child born at the Tooloom gold diggings.
Situated at the headwaters of the Clarence River, Urbenville lies nestled under Coutt’s Crown.
Surrounded by State and National Parks with areas of rainforest rich in its flora and fauna, this area provides fishing, fossicking, canoeing and swimming opportunities in its numerous nearby streams.
Pioneer Cottage Museum presents rooms just as they were when the early pioneers lived and worked in this rich farming and tall timber country. The home of the Lamb family, this cottage was built in 1892 in Legume before being relocated to Urbenville in 1977. Open 1st and 3rd Sunday or by appointment. Phone (02) 6634 1352 or (02) 6634 1254 for further information about the Pioneer Cottage Museum.